Ayurveda is as old as the world, with eternal relevance

Ayurveda is a Sanskrit word, derived from two roots. Ayur which means life, and Veda which means knowledge. Ayurveda means knowledge of the whole life, which covers our body, mind and spirit. Though Ayurveda has its roots in the ancient heritage, its relevance in this modern age is unquestionable. It is a true medical science which depends very little on technology but with a high scientific approach to treatments. It is quite natural and has the least side effects. It also purifies the body, mind and spirit. It is the science of life contributed by Rishis who are infallible.

We are living in a busy and consumerist world, which denies the ecological balance of the world. Ayurveda, which has its roots in ancient vedas, stresses on the necessity of morality for keeping world in harmony. The real aim of the life is to complete "purushartha":- Dharma, Ardha, Kama, and Moksha. Dharma means morality, Ardha means, the wealth achieved through moral means, Kama means desires and satisfaction of desires using the money earned through moral means and Moksha means liberation from the worldly ties (to attain salvation). Man aspires to live in pleasure and comfort but such a life should be vested in Dharma which advocates that no one else should be denied of such a life. This needs high moral values and self discipline. So morality is the law which disciplines and regularises life, to live and let others live.

The men who have propagated such laws are known as Rishis in Indian culture. They had complete knowledge about Thrikala - past, present and future. They had the insight of whole universe from the beginning to the end. The science of life, Ayurveda, has been gifted to the world by such Rishis (errorless persons). Ayurveda is a noble gift to the mankind for preserving the 'ayus' which means life. As it was derived from the revelation of the Rishis, Ayurveda has its stand in the spiritual realm of the mind. This kind of ordered and disciplined life is known as Rishi culture. Following this order of life is considered 'guruthwam'.

'Guruthwam' is a culture enumerating the various universal phenomena in the descending order of their importance.

Thridosha sidhandha

Thridosha sidhandha is the main principle of Ayurvedic treatment. Thridosha Sidhandha is a principle propagating that the health of a human being is based on a balance of three parameters of the body, Vata, Pita and Kapha. Health means the body keeping the equilibrium in these three doshas and the body, which fails to maintain this equilibrium is sick. Thus treatment is meant to set right imbalances of the thridoshas.


Herbal medicine alone cannot cure a disease. Vydhya (physician), who has completely devoted his life to medical researches by the help of knowledge earned from the Rishis culture, is undeniably a part of the process of curing.

Pre-requisites of a Patient according to Ayurveda for effective cure

Belief in God, having foresight, tolerance, self-control, belief in the physician and in the science, taking medicines and observing strict diet control are essential pre-requisites for a patient who undergoes Ayurvedic treatment. Ayurveda is a holistic system of medicine.

Ayurvedic method of examining a Patient

Dooshyam:Dooshyasthithi in the body. Seven types of dooshyas in the body, rasa, raktha, mamsa, medas, asthi, majja and sukla.
Deasam: Patient's place and affected part of the body.
Balam: Sahajabalam ( immunity power acquired by birth)
Kalam: Climatic relations with the disease
Analam: Digestive power of the patient
Prakruthi: Seven types of Prakruthis. a. vata, b.pita , c. kapha , d.Vathapita, e. pitakapha , f. vathakapha & g. sannipata
Vaya: Age of the
Sathvam: Ability to tolerate pain
Satmyam: Habits of the patient
Aharam: Food Habits of the patient

According to Ayurveda, the diseases must be classified as given below before starting course of treatment.
Easily curable
Difficult to cure
Prognosis of the disease may vary from person to person depending on the above mentioned factors.

Roga Pareeksha - Examination of Disease

Diabetic Gangrene associated with Diabetic Neuropathy and Diagnosis of disease done by ascertaining the following five factors.
Nidanam:Causative factors of the disease
Poorvaroopam: Prodromal symptoms.
Roopam: Sign and symptoms
Upashayam: Trial and error method
Samprapthi: Pathogenic

Diagnosis and treatment are also based on the sources of knowledge.
Chaturvidha jnanam(four sources of knowledge)
Pratyaksham:What is apparent
Aptopadesa: Application of the theories put forward by the errorless people (Rishis), who combined experience and revelation which made their theories authentic and immortal
Yukthi: Logic

Division of treatment

Treatment can simply be divided into two. First one Samanam means mitigation and Sodhanam, which means purification. The process of purification is known as "Panchakarma". There is one more type of treatment Swasthahitham which means maintaining health through a disciplined diet and ordered living.


Proper way of living and doing proper things at the proper time (Proper food, proper sleep and leading a healthy way of life).

Source of Medicine

Most of the Ayurvedic preparations are made from medicinal herbs available in the nature. Herbs are the real friends of the human body. The Western Ghats of Kerala is rich in a diversity of medicinal plants.

Actions of Ayurvedic medicines

Rasam:a. Swadu ( Sweetness), b. Amlam (Sourness), c. Lavanam (Salt flavour), d. Thiktham (Bitterness), e. Ooshanam (Hot) and f. Kashaya (Mixed taste)
Veeriyam: Effect of the medicine
Vipakam: Rasa combines with digestive enzymes and results in Vipakarasa
Prabhavam: Avayava prabhavam and Samudaya prabhavam

Vimsathi Gunam.

Pharmacology of Ayurvedic medicines depend upon 20 types of medicinal qualities
Guru-Heaviness Laghu-Lightness Manda-Slowness Theeshna-Intensity Rooksha-Dryness Seetha-Coldness Ushna-Heat Ghara-Roughness Sandra-Density Mrudu-Softness Sthira-stability Sookshma-Micro(invisible) Chala-Mobility Slashna-Soothening effect Visadam-Clarity Pischilam-Mucilaginous nature Dravam-Liquidity Snigdha-Oily nature Kaddinam-Hardness

There are eight branches in Ayurveda known as "Ashtanga Chikitsa"
Kayachikitsa - General medicine Balachikitsa - Paediatric treatment Graha chikitsa - Psychiatry Urdhvanga chikitsa - ENT and Head
Salya chikitsa - Surgery Damstra chikitsa - Toxicology Jara chikitsa - Means to maintain immunity of the body. Vajeekara chikitsa - Maintaining sexual power and infertility treatment)